Trail Camera Reviews 2020

With such a wide selection of trail cameras to choose from, whether for hunting, home security or fun – deciding on the model best suited to your needs could be both time consuming and downright confusing.

Where do you start and who can you believe?

I’d be lying if I said I knew everything about every model of trail camera out there. I should think that would be an impossible statement for anyone to make – wouldn’t you agree?

To overcome this lack of knowledge I’ve based my list of Trail Camera Reviews on appraisals from real-life users. Customers who bought the models listed here and found the time to write reviews (both good and bad).

There’s the old saying that goes something like “You may have to kiss a lot of frogs before you find your Prince”

My aim is to save you having that sort of experience when looking for  the best trail camera for your needs.

Take a look at my list of top-rated trail cameras, based on real user ratings, that have consistently received great reviews.

But first …

Using statistics obtained from Amazon to make the list of top trail cameras each model listed had to have:

  1. At least 800 reviews – in order to bring you the best result the more reviews a mode has the more accurate the results effect the performance/value etc. of that particular model.  
    Only 10% – 20% of buyers ever tend to return just to leave a review.
    800 reviews indicates that between 8000 and 16000 customers have purchased that model and a large percentage of them felt strongly enough about their purchase to return and leave a review.
  2. The average rating had to be in excess of 4.0/5 stars.
    People are more likely to complain, or write a bad review, than they are to write a “thank-you”.
    Consistently high ratings are a real indication of how good a trail camera is. 
  3. No More than *10% of 1 Star ratings.
    If a product had too many negative ratings my experience tells me that there is something inherently wrong with it. 
    It is usually one of two things:

    a) Badly manufactured or
    b) Not meeting expectations as described in the marketing

    Therefore any trail camera that had more than 10% of negative ratings was excluded. 

 

Trail Camera Reviews 4 Criteria to Make The List

4. A minimum of 12 megapixels.
    While 8 mega pixels is acceptable for trail cameras (in daylight), 12 megapixels      is so much better.
    All the models listed here have a resolution of at least 12 megapixels.
    Is this adding unnecessary cost to your choice?
    Absolutely not – technology advances rapidly and with each advance prices tend to come down!

*10% Negative reviews may be considered to be a bit high and lenient on my part but as I said we are more likely to complain than we are to praise.  Under these circumstances I think 10% is acceptable.

See also my  comments on “What to Look for in a trail camera” further down.

Grab a coffee and enjoy!

7 Top Rated Trail Cameras for 2020

The following 7 trail cameras are listed in order of ratings out of 5 – they are not listed in order of recommendations.

The information supplied here is to give you an idea of their technical specs, functions,  popularity and prices.

I reveal my pick in “Final Word On Game Trail Cameras” at the end of this review.

Victure HC300 Trail Camera

Trail Camera Reviews Overall Rating of 4.6 for the Victure 20 Megapixel IP66
Amazon Customer Rating as @ January 2020

Specs:

  • Resolution: 20 MP / 1080p Full HD 
  • Image Transfer: Via USB connection
  • Range: 65 ft
  • Detection Circuit: 120°
  • Power Supply: 8 x AA batteries
  • Memory: SD/SDHC Card Class 6 or class 10 Max 32Gb
  • Trigger Sensitivity: 0.3 Seconds. Motion activated
  • Flash:  38 pc Infrared No Glow LED 
  • Screen: 2.0″ Color LCD
  • Weight:  1.3 Pounds
  • Water Proofing: IP66

Pros.

  • 20 Megapixels.  High definition allows for better cropping and zooming in
  • 1080p Full HD video
  • Good button layout that is easy to use
  • Easy to navigate menu and controls are on the front panel and screen
  • Good sound recording
  • Excellent sensitivity resulting in far fewer blank images
  • Highly customisable

Cons.

  • No remote access 
  • No WiFi
  • Requires a lot of batteries – but will run on only  4 for 2-3 months. The full compliment of 8 x AA will give you 5 to 6 months life.
    Use lithium batteries for best results, especially in cold weather.

Campark T40 Trail Camera

4.4 Star Rating For Campark T40 Trail Camera
Amazon Customer Rating as @ January 2020

Specs:

  • Resolution: 14 MP / 1080p Full HD 25fps
  • Image Transfer: Via USB connection
  • Range: 65 ft
  • Detection Circuit: 120 °
  • Power Supply:  8 x AA batteries
  • Memory: Micro SD card up to 32 GB
  • Trigger Sensitivity: 0.5 second Motivation activated
  • Flash: 42 pc Infrared No Glow LED
  • Screen: 2.0″ Color TFT LCD
  • Weight: 1.1 Pounds
  • Water Proofing: IP66

Pros.

  • Durable strap
  • Good 24 hour after sales service
  • Lightweight and compact
  • Will work on 4 batteries
  • Large screen for programming and easy to read
  • Simple navigation buttons
  • Daylight time lapse
  • Video for up to 10 minutes
  • Customisable setting options

Cons.

  • SD card is flush mounted and hard to install and remove
  • Only has straps for mounting – no mounting plate
  • No place to lock and secure against theft
  • Not the greatest instruction manual

Campark T45 Trail Camera

Trail Camera Reviews Campark T45 4.4 Star Customer Review Rating
Amazon Customer Rating as @January 2020

Specs:

  • Resolution: 14mp /1080p Full HD
  • Image Transfer: Via USB connection
  • Range: 65 ft
  • Detection Circuit: 120 °
  • Power Supply: 8 x AA Batteries 
  • Memory: SD Card class 10 up to 32GB
  • Trigger Sensitivity: 0.3 seconds with 3 trigger sensors
  • Flash: Low Glow Infrared 42 pc LED
  • Screen: 2.4″ Color LCD
  • Weight: 1.1 lbs
  • Waterproof: IP 56

Pros.

  • Good picture and video quality
  • Excellent night video
  • Very few empty frames thanks to the 3 sensors that detect movement and trigger the camera/video as soon as the subject enters the frame
  • Excellent battery life
  • Will support external 6v Power supply
  • Excellent value for money

Cons.

  • Card access – flush mounted and particularly difficult to remove – even with small hands
  • Mounting plate, while good to have, is a bit flimsy
  • Instruction manual could be much better

Campark T20 Trail Camera

Trail Camera Reviews The Campark T20 4.4 Star Rating
Amazon Customer Rating as @ January 2020

Specs:

  • Resolution: 12mp /1080p
  • Image Transfer: Via USB connection
  • Range: 65 ft
  • Detection Circuit: 120 °
  • Power Supply: 4 X AA
  • Memory: SD card (16GB recommended)
  • Trigger Sensitivity: 0.5 – 0.8 secs (single sensor)
  • Flash: Infra red
  • Screen: 2″ LCD
  • Weight: 14.4 ounces
  • Waterprrof: IP56

Pros.

  • Compact and small – fits in the palm of your hand
  • Fairly well constructed
  • External power port
  • Great for around the house/yard use

Cons.

  • Maximum recommended memory card is 16GB
  • Not recommended for the serious hunter who intends to leave it out for an extended time
  • You get what you pay for

Campark T70 Trail Camera

Trail Camera Reviews Campark T70 4.3 Star Rating
Amazon Customer Rating as @ January 2020

Specs:

  • Resolution: 14mp / 1080P
  • Image Transfer: Via USB 2.0 connection
  • Range: 65 ft (users report it detects up to 30 meters)
  • Detection Circuit:120 °
  • Power Supply: 8 x AA batteries with support for external power supply of 6V
  • Memory: Class 10 SD card with 32GB
  • Trigger Sensitivity: 0.5 secs
  • Flash: No Glow Night vision with 44pc LED
  • Screen: 2.4″ Color TFT LCD
  • Weight: 1.32 lbs
  • Waterproof: IP 66

Pros.

  • Solidly Built
  • Excellent video and picture quality
  • Camouflage is excellent
  • Resolution and on screen font size is big and easy to read
  • 2 Tripod/mounting bracket options with ball joint
  • Very very good all round ratings where buyers rave about this camera as being the best value for money.
    Click the button below to see amazing reviews from Amazon verified purchasers

Cons.

  • The bad reviews on this model seem to stem from the odd lemon that occurred every now and again.
    This can happen with any product and if you buy one of these I suggest you test it thoroughly during the free return period
  • The very few negative reviews seemed to come from buyers who were expecting a Rolls Royce for this incredible price

Toguard H45 Trail Camera

Trail Camera Reviews Toguard H45 4.3 Star Rating
Amazon Customer Rating as #January 2020

Specs:

  • Resolution: 14 MP / 1080p Full HD
  • Image Transfer: Via USB connection
  • Range: 75 ft
  • Detection Circuit: 120 °
  • Power Supply: 8 x AA Batteries with support for external power supply
  • Memory: SD card up to 32GB
  • Trigger Sensitivity: 0.3 sec with 3 PIR sensors
  • Flash: 42 Pcs Low Glow infra red LED
  • Screen: 2.4 ” color TFT LCD
  • Weight: 1 lb
  • Waterproof: IP56

Pros.

(Note there is a newer version of this model, the Toguard H85 – that is worth checking out)

  • Easy set-up and operation that can be done without referring to the excellent instruction manual
  • Superb image quality in both stills and video – reported by many uses as being the best they have seen
  • Long detection range
  • Solidly built and protected against the elements and damage through dropping or bumping
  • Retains date and time settings even during battery changes.  Saves on having to re-enter this information
  • Long battery life
  • The revised H85 has improved on the cons l listed alongside and is worth looking at. The Toguard H85 has a 5 star rating but not enough reviews to qualify for this list.

Cons.

  • Audio is a bit weak
  • Video playback arrives set at “fast” playback
  • Night vision shots are often underexposed

Victure HC200 Trail Camera

Trail Camera Reviews Victure HC200 4.3 Star Rating
Amazon Customer Rating as @ January 2020

Specs:

  • Resolution: 12 MP / 1080p (15fps)
  • Image Transfer: Via USB connection
  • Range: 65 ft
  • Detection Circuit: 120 °
  • Power Supply: 4 or 8 X AA batteries and support for external power supply
  • Memory: SD card class 6 or higher up to 32 GB
  • Trigger Sensitivity: 0.5 sec
  • Flash: 26 pcs LED (940nm) no glow infra red technology
  • Screen: 2.4′ Color LCD
  • Weight: 1.15 lbs
  • Waterproof: IP66

Pros.

  • Easy to set-up and operate
  • Excellent video and images
  • Time lapse option
  • Image stamp with moon phase, temperature, date, and time
  • Works extremely well in sub zero temperatures (with Lithium batteries)
  • Solid build using good quality materials

Cons.

  • Sadly the vendor entices positive reviews with the offer of a gift.  This creates a negative perception
  • User manual could be improved on

Two Exciting Newcomers to Watch

Two trail cameras that didn’t meet the criteria in terms of number of reviews received but …

Keep an eye on these two models I think they are going to prove a good buy.

Sereer Technology Trail Camera

Trail Camera Review Sereer Technology Trail Camera 4.9 Star Rating
Amazon Customer Rating as @ January 2020

Specs:

  • Resolution: 16 Mp / 1080p (30 fps) Full HD 
  • Image Transfer: Via USB connection
  • Range: 65ft
  • Detection Circuit: 120°
  • Power Supply: 4 or 8 AA batteries
  • Memory: SD card (up to 32 GB)
  • Trigger Sensitivity: 0.2 sec
  • Flash: 42 pc Infra Red LED Infra Red
  • Screen: 2.4″ TFT Color LCD
  • Weight: 1.25 lbs
  • Waterproof: IP 66
Trail Camera Reviews The Seree Trail Camera

Pros.

  • Works in a wide range of temps from -20° to  6o°
  • Up to 8 Months battery stand by time
  • Aesthetically pleasing and functional
  • Controls very easy to operate
  • Excellent image and video quality
  • Durable
  • Images viewable on LCD screen
  • Select between 1 and 3 Sensors 

Cons.

  • At time of review there were no negative comments

Alphacam 30mp Trail Camera

Trail Camera Reviews Alphacam 4.6 Star Rating
Amazon Customer Rating as @ January 2020

Specs:

  • Resolution: 30 mp / 1080p (30fps)
  • Image Transfer: Via USB connection
  • Range: 90 ft motion detection with 100 ft IR flash distance
  • Detection Circuit: 140° – widest under review
  • Power Supply: 8 x AA batteries with support for external power supply
  • Memory: SD Card up to 512 GB
  • Trigger Sensitivity: 0.2 secs with 1 sec recovery rate
  • Flash: 6 High power IR LEDs
  • Screen: 2.4″ Color LCD
  • Weight: 1.15 lbs
  • Waterproof: IP 67 – best in industry

Pros.

  • 30 MP – highest under review!
  • 30 Month extended warranty – longest under review!
  • Ultra Strong waterproof case and design
  • Up to 512 GB memory card for storage – most under review!
  • Outstanding after sales support from tech team
  • 90 Ft motion detection – furthest under review!
  • 0.2 sec trigger – fastest under review!
  • IP 67 waterproofing – best in industry!
  • 30 Month stand by battery life – by far the best under review!
  • Up to 9 images per trigger
  • Ultra fast motion flash ensures no blurry night time images

Cons.

  • Does not work with alkaline batteries, despite vendor’s sales image showing them – use lithium
  • On/off switch is a bit tight

Ten Features to Look For in a Trail Camera

When looking for a trail camera, or any camera for wildlife photography, we all want one thing: a camera that works as intended.

Some work better than others.
Some rely on the brand name (hey and those are popular too but do they work any better than lesser known brands? That’s up to you to decide.

All the trail cameras listed here work as intended.

So let’s touch on what to look for in a trail camera.

Sensitivity

Whether you are using a trail camera to capture game, intruders or burglars you can be certain they are not going to switch the camera on for you!

You need a camera that will sense their movement at the earliest possible stage and activate the camera or video.

Camera’s with 3 sensors provide a much greater success rate than cameras with a single sensor as they capture anything that enters the detection circuit as early as possible.

Detection Circuit Area

The detection circuit area is determined by how close your subject your subject needs to be (the range) and the width of the field of view in order for the sensors to trigger the camera’s shutter.

A long range and a wide field of view covers the greatest area and creates greater opportunity for capturing more images successfully. 

I like to call this the “kill Zone” (to coin an army phrase).

Trigger Response and Recovery Time

Once the subject has entered the “kill zone” the camera needs to initiate before they leave the area. the shorter the time from sensing to triggering the camera the better. Cameras that produce a lot of empty frames most likely have a slow trigger response time.

Each trigger activation takes a certain amount of images – from 1 t0 as many as 9

Added to the trigger response time (and frames per trigger) is the trigger recovery time: the amount of time the camera needs to reset itself in preparation for the next trigger activation.

The more frames per trigger and the faster the recovery time the more images you will get while your subject is in frame.  That’s what you want – right?

Image and Video Quality

Mega pixels (dots per inch on the camera sensor) is what determines the quality of the image. 

You don’t want, and can’t do much with, a hundred photos that aren’t recognisable.

The greater the number of megapixels the higher your image quality will be – it’s that simple.

For trail cameras you want at least 8 mp for daylight shots and a minimum of 10 mp for night shots (combined with a decent infra red flash of course.

Price wise you can see from the above that higher resolution cameras do not necessarily cost more – that’s technology for you where newer and better is often cheaper.

Power Supply (and life)

Most of the trail cameras use AA batteries and offer between 4 or 8 compartments for them.

Obviously using 8 batteries will provide a longer life span and less frequent changing. Bear in mind that the more mages/videos your camera takes and the more bells and whistles it has, the more it will drain your battery power.

It is recommended that you use rechargeable lithium ion batteries wherever possible as these will give you a longer and more reliable usage.

A camera with a battery indicator (like a car’s fuel gauge) is a great feature to have so that you can see at a glance how much power is left in the unit.

The option of an external power source is a feature well worth having – especially if you plan to leave your camera out  for an extended period of time.

Memory Cards

Your images and videos are stored on memory cards, measure in Giga Bites (GBs).

The higher the GB the greater the storage.

Most trail cameras offer a maximum of 32GBs which is a lot of storage space and should take thousands of Jpeg images.

High Resolution Screen

A good high resolution screen is important as you want to be able to see what is going on in all lighting conditions.

Menu options are displayed on the screen and you need to be able to see what you’re doing.

Some cameras have a playback screen – get one of these, where you can view what has been captured without having to transfer the images to another device.

External Ports and Connections

It’s easier and more convenient to be able to transfer images and videos by WiFi (provided there is a signal) or a USB port than it is to take the card out and transfer it to, or view it on, another device. 

Besides a USB port an external power supply port is also handy as mentioned above.

Infra-Red or Flash

Not much to say here except that traditional flash will scare your subject and in many case is not good for their eyes.

A low or no glow infra red flash is the way to go as animals aren’t even aware of them.

Weather Proofing and Security

It goes without saying that if you are leaving a camera outdoors you need one that is weather proof. 

Some weather proofing is better than others so get the best you can for your region and it’s particular weather patterns – IP 56 or higher is recommended.

You also need a camera that you can secure – not just against dishonest humans but also from naughty, inquisitive and destructive animals.

A well constructed camera housing  made with quality materials is what you are looking for.

The ability to lock the camera with a padlock (or similar) and to secure it with UV protected straps or, better still steel straps/cables, or a metal mount will help against intruders and weather.

Sometimes though damage is unavoidable and some individuals will damage gear simply because they couldn’t steal it but hopefully you will have captured their image.

One of the many accessories you can get is a security box to house your camera.  These are fantastic but beware and ensure that you buy one that fits your camera without negatively affecting it’s performance. 

A Final Word on Game Trail Cameras ... (and my choice)

I sincerely hope that this post has helped you in deciding on a game trail camera for your needs.

When compiling it I was surprised at the brands that stuck out – with no big brand names appearing at all.  Campark in particular, with 4 models featured, was an eye opener.

So what’s your pick?

I must say my preference lies with the 30MP Alphacam trail camera – it sounds and looks like a fantastic trail camera and the reviews, although limited in number, are overwhelmingly positive.

So tell me (in the comments below) what your choice is and what you think of mine.

I’d love to hear from you and discuss the pros and cons of the different models.

Please follow and like my site:

4 thoughts on “Trail Camera Reviews 2020”

  1. I’m not a technical writer but I appreciate the skill it takes to convey how something works to someone who may have very little knowledge of it. In fact I have read reviews that say almost nothing at all about the product or device reviewed and what is said is sometimes filled with errors—this I found out much later.

    Lawrence, what like about your reviews is the demonstrated expertise shown and the answer to the question as to why a reader would want the product or at least appreciate why someone would want the product. For example, I’m not a hunter but even I would have a hard time, after reading your review, understanding why a hunter would go hunting without a trail camera. Also, we can all get distracted on camping trips. I for one can think of the many times I would loose things without knowing how they got lost. A trail camera would help.

    That said, after reading your reviews of trail cameras I would say the section on features to look for was especially useful. Keeping this in mind, were I to buy a trail camera I would choose the 30MP Alphacam trail camera. I like the fact that I would have access to good customer service, and trust your expertise. Thanks again for this excellent post. I always feel that I’m getting a good education on the use of photography whenever I come to your website.

    Reply
    • Thanks Thabo that is very kind of you.

      The 30MP one is definitely the way to go – you clearly understand the benefits of more megapixels. In game photos because of the potential to land up with a small subject in a big frame the cropping ability comes into play and this is where the greater number of megapixels stands out.

      Another important feature to have is the angle of detection (the wider the better) and the trigger response time. It’s not much fun opening your card and seeing nothing but blank images because the subject is in and out of view before the camera has clicked.

      You mention you’re not a hunter, and many people aren’t but they use trail cameras for home security. A great way to catch unwanted guests who aren’t aware they are on camera.
      And in home security those same things apply: you want to be sure to get a photo of the perpetrator and be able to zoom in on them to identify them 100%

      Thanks once again for your comment and kind words.
      Lawrence

      Reply
  2. As a user of trail cameras for both wildlife and home protection this review helped me look at some models I had not seen before.

    Because I have a couple of cameras with WiFi one of the things I am looking for in my new cameras is wifi access.

    One thing you did included in your reviews that some reviews do not is the distance that a trail camera will cover – I think this is an important consideration.

    Anyway great review and thanks for letting me look at models I had not seen

    Reply
    • Hello Bo

      A fellow trail camera user. Great to have you contribute to my post.

      A lot of folk are only familiar with name brands and that is understandable – marketing is a powerful tool is it not?

      However lesser known brands can and are just as good in many cases as can be seen from my review.

      WiFi is a great feature to have – the only negative is that a lot of areas where game is found don’t have coverage. but that is not a fault of the camera and it is always better to have a parachute that not don’t you think?

      Thanks once again for stopping by and contributing.

      All the best
      Lawrence

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial